Regional School District 12 Board of Education Special Meeting Shepaug Valley School March 31, 2015

The Special Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order at 7:30 p.m., on Tuesday, March 31, 2015, by Chairman James Hirschfield. Present were Board members: Valerie Andersen, Tony Bedini, Alan Brown, Gregory Cava, Michelle Gorra, Jennifer Pote, Michael Sinatra, Susan Stumpf, and Peter Tagley. Kelly Lott arrived at 8:58 p.m. Emily Hibbard was absent. Patricia Cosentino, Ed.D., Superintendent was also present.

Also present were: Cathy Colella, Principal Booth Free and Burnham Schools; Teresa DeBrito, Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment; Robert Giesen, Director of Finance and Operations and Allyson O'Hara, Director of Pupil Services.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Gary Lord, Roxbury, commented on the budget and Capital Funding.

CONTINUED DISCUSSION OF THE PROPOSED 2015-2016 BUDGET

Robert Giesen handed out an update showing the actions taken at the March 23, 2015 meeting.

Discussion followed on the budget with comments made in regard to the Capital Budget.

MOTION: made by Greg Cava, seconded by Alan Brown to add a third REACH class and expand the

REACH program which would add \$147,602.91 to the budget.

Discussion followed on the motion which included an update on REACH by Allyson O'Hara. Mrs. O'Hara handed out information which showed the expenses of adding a third class. Mrs. O'Hara stated that she had contacted Region 6, Region 15, New Milford, Litchfield, and Watertown to compare tuition prices. Questions on budget cut items were asked for clarification prior to the vote on REACH.

MOTION: made by Susan Stumpf, seconded by Valerie Anderson to amend the motion to have at least

one section, (9 AM - 12 PM) at Burnham School and include only one way transportation

across the district.

Discussion on the amendment followed.

MOTION: made by Peter Tagley, seconded by Greg Cava to move the question.

VOTE: In favor: Tony Bedini, Greg Cava, James Hirschfield, Michael Sinatra, Susan Stumpf

and Peter Tagley.

Opposed: Valerie Andersen, Alan Brown, Michelle Gorra, Kelly Lott and Jennifer Pote.

Motion passed (6-5)

Special Meeting Minutes Shepaug Valley School March 31, 2014

Vote on Susan's amendment:

VOTE: In favor: Valerie Andersen, Alan Brown, Kelly Lott, Michael Sinatra and Susan

Stumpf.

Opposed: Tony Bedini, Greg Cava, Michelle Gorra, James Hirschfield, Jennifer Pote

and Peter Tagley.

Motion failed (5-6)

Discussion followed.

MOTION: made by Valerie Andersen, seconded by Susan Stumpf to amend Greg's motion and add to it,

to ask the administration to develop information on the added REACH program and report

back to the Board after the end of the current school year.

Discussion followed.

MOTION: made by Greg Cava, seconded by Tony Bedini to move the question.

VOTE: In favor: Valerie Andersen, Tony Bedini, Greg Cava, James Hirschfield, Michael

Sinatra, Susan Stumpf and Peter Tagley.

Opposed: Alan Brown, Michelle Gorra, Kelly Lott and Jennifer Pote.

Motion passed (7-4)

Vote on Valerie's amendment:

VOTE: In favor: Valerie Andersen and Susan Stumpf.

Opposed: Alan Brown, Tony Bedini, Greg Cava, Michelle Gorra, James Hirschfield,

Kelly Lott, Jennifer Pote, Michael Sinatra and Peter Tagley.

Motion failed (2-9)

Discussion followed.

Vote on the original motion:

VOTE: In favor: Alan Brown, Greg Cava, Michelle Gorra, James Hirschfield, Jennifer Pote

and Michael Sinatra.

Opposed: Valerie Andersen, Tony Bedini, Kelly Lott, Susan Stumpf and Peter Tagley.

Motion passed (6-5)

ADOPTION OF THE 2015-2016 BUDGET AS RECOMMENDED FOR PRESENTATION AT THE DISTRICT HEARING ON APRIL 6, 2015.

MOTION: made by Valerie Andersen, seconded by Greg Cava to adopt the 2015-2016 Budget as

presented with amendments from tonight's meeting for presentation at the Public District

Budget Hearing on April 6, 2015 at \$21,561,447.00.

Discussion followed which included questions about the Capital Budget, the Senior Commons area and the Mall at Shepaug.

VOTE: In favor: Tony Bedini, Alan Brown, Greg Cava, James Hirschfield, Kelly Lott, Jennifer

Pote, Michael Sinatra, Susan Stumpf and Peter Tagley.

Opposed: Valerie Andersen and Michelle Gorra.

Motion passed (9-2)

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: made by Alan Brown to adjourn at 9:33 p.m.

VOTE: unanimous.