# Regional School District 12 Annual District Budget Meeting Minutes Shepaug Valley School May 1, 2017

The Annual District Budget Meeting was called to order at 7:05 p.m. on Monday, May 1, 2017 by Vice Chair Michelle Gorra. Present were Board members: Anthony Amato, Valerie Andersen, Alan Brown, Gregory Cava, Rebecca Devine, Stephanie Kolnick, Jennifer Pote, Michael Sinatra and Peter Tagley. Patricia E. Cosentino, Ed.D., Superintendent, and Robert Giesen, Director of Finance and Operations were also present. Absent were: James Hirschfield and Lisa Roush.

#### NOMINATION OF MODERATOR TO CONDUCT THE MEETING

**NOMINATION:** made by Alan Brown, seconded by Jennifer Pote, to appoint Jay Hubelbank as moderator.

**VOTE:** unanimous.

## MODERATOR TO READ THE CALL OF THE MEETING

Jay Hubelbank read the following:

#### "NOTICE OF ANNUAL DISTRICT BUDGET MEETING

Notice is hereby given to all those entitled to vote in town meetings in the towns of Bridgewater, Roxbury and Washington, that a District Meeting will be held on Monday, May 1, 2017 at 7:00 p.m. at Shepaug Valley School, 159 South Street, Washington, CT, to present for approval the Annual Budget for the year 2017-2018, prepared by the Regional Board of Education for Shepaug Valley Regional School District 12, copies of which are on file with the respective Town Clerks of the District and at the Central Office of the Board of Education.

SHEPAUG VALLEY REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT 12
BRIDGEWATER – ROXBURY – WASHINGTON
By – James Hirschfield, Chairman
Board of Education
Washington Depot, CT 06794"

Vice Chair Gorra presented the Board's adopted budget in the amount of \$21,387,146 for the 2017-2018 school year in accordance with Sec. 10-51 of General Statutes.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

The Budget Meeting is to be considered adjourned until the following day, Tuesday, May 2, 2017, until polls open in each of the three member towns for the purpose of voting the question. The meeting shall then be considered as adjourned following the close of the polls in the three member towns, and announcements made of the results of voting the question.

Bridgewater – Town Clerk, Cheryl Pinkos 860 354-5102

(Senior Center – 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.)

Roxbury – Town Clerk, Peter Hurlbut 860 354-3328

(Town Hall – 29 North Street – 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.)

Washington – Town Clerk, Sheila Anson 860 868-2786

(Town Hall – Bryan Memorial Plaza – 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.)

**MOTION:** made by Peter Tagley, seconded by Gregory Cava to adjourn the meeting at 7:08 p.m.

**VOTE:** unanimous.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:08 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by: Debby Bliven