Regional School District 12 Board of Education Special Meeting Minutes Shepaug Valley School July 12, 2016

The Special Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order at 7:07 p.m., on Tuesday, July 12, 2016, by Chairman James Hirschfield. Present were Board members: Anthony Amato, Valerie Andersen, Alan Brown, Gregory Cava, Rebecca Devine, Michelle Gorra, Jennifer Pote, Michael Sinatra, Peter Tagley and Sydney Worobel. Roxbury – Vacancy.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

MOTION: made by Valerie Andersen, seconded by Michael Sinatra, to go into Executive Session

for the purpose of the Superintendent's evaluation and to review non-certified staff

2016/17 salaries at 7:08 p.m.

VOTE: unanimous.

ACTION ON EXECUTIVE SESSION ITEMS

The Board returned to regular session at 11:06 p.m.

MOTION: made by Valerie Andersen, seconded by Michael Sinatra, to increase the salaries of the

non-certified staff by 2.5% for the period of July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017 with the following exceptions: Don O'Leary, Facilities Manager – 3% increase and Robert

Giesen, Director of Finance and Operations – 3% increase.

VOTE: unanimous.

MOTION: made by Gregory Cava, seconded by Michelle Gorra, to increase Superintendent Patricia

Cosentino's salary by 2% for the period of July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017.

VOTE: In favor: Anthony Amato, Alan Brown, Gregory Cava, Rebecca Devine, Michelle

Gorra, James Hirschfield, Jennifer Pote, Michael Sinatra, Peter Tagley and

Sydney Worobel.

Opposed: None.

Abstained: Valerie Andersen.

Motion passed (10-0-1).

MOTION: made by Michelle Gorra, seconded by Gregory Cava, to increase the out-of-pocket

expenses referenced in Section 5 of the Superintendent's contract from \$1,250 to \$1,500

for the period of July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017.

VOTE: In favor: Anthony Amato, Alan Brown, Gregory Cava, Rebecca Devine, Michelle

Gorra, James Hirschfield, Jennifer Pote, Michael Sinatra, Peter Tagley and

Sydney Worobel.

Special Meeting Minutes Shepaug Valley School July 12, 2016

Opposed: None.

Abstained: Valerie Andersen.

Motion passed (10-0-1).

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: made by Sydney Worobel, seconded by Alan Brown, to adjourn the meeting.

VOTE: unanimous.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:20 p.m.